Life, Loss, and the Wisdom of Rivers

Illustration from The River by Alessandro Sanna “It’s a mercy that time runs in one direction only, that we see the past but darkly and the future not at all.” BY MARIA POPOVA “The past only comes back when the present runs so smoothly that it is like the sliding surface of a deep river,”Virginia Woolf wrote some years before she filled her coat-pockets with stones, waded into the River Ouse near her house, and, unwilling to endure what she had barely survived in the past, slid beneath the smooth surface of life. One midsummer morning seven decades after Woolf was swallowed by the Ouse, Olivia … Continue reading Life, Loss, and the Wisdom of Rivers

Art Imitates Buddhism

Photo by Jessica Ruscello | https://tricy.cl/2Kvc5ck By Alex Tzelnic Buddhist teachers share the art that inspires their practice. Buddhist teachings can sometimes feel abstract. What does it mean exactly to say that “life is suffering?” How can that message be conveyed in a way that will resonate with me, that will feel visceral and true to my experience? In the poem “Bluebird” Charles Bukowski writes: there’s a bluebird in my heart that wants to get out but I’m too clever, I only let him out at night sometimes when everybody’s asleep. I say, I know that you’re there, so don’t be … Continue reading Art Imitates Buddhism

My Own Personal Nothingness

ILLUSTRATION BY GÉRARD DUBOIS From a childhood hallucination to the halls of theoretical physics. BY ALAN LIGHTMAN “Nothing will come of nothing.” (William Shakespeare, King Lear) “Man is equally incapable of seeing the nothingness from which he emerges and the infinity in which he is engulfed.” (Blaise Pascal, Pensées, The Misery of Man Without God) “The… ‘luminiferous ether’ will prove to be superfluous as the view to be developed here will eliminate [the condition of] absolute rest in space.” (Albert Einstein, On the Electrodynamics of Moving Bodies) My most vivid encounter with Nothingness occurred in a remarkable experience I had as a child … Continue reading My Own Personal Nothingness